Get to Know an Agent in Attendance: Dawn Michelle Hardy of Serendipity Literary

Screen Shot 2018-11-27 at 10.19.32 PM.pngDawn Michelle Hardy is a literary agent with Dream Relations PR & Literary Consulting.

Dawn sticks to nonfiction. She likes memoir writers who can capture a larger narrative through their personal story and strong hook, best-in-class professionals and educators in a variety of fields, an engaging and outspoken cultural critic, pop-culture, sports or music enthusiast with a “hip” idea from an untold vantage point. Creatives who use art as activism. She wants to hear from loud millennials, women, and multicultural voices looking to better the world through their writing.

Dawn has been called a “literary lobbyist” by Ebony magazine for her ability to help authors reach their readership using strategic promotions, win awards and garner national and local media attention. She has dual roles in the book publishing industry as both publicist and literary agent. She founded Dream Relations, PR & Literary Consulting Agency in 2004. Additionally, in 2011 she joined Serendipity Literary Agency where she aids in shaping the careers of platformed writers. Some of her clients at Serendipity include Jean McGianni Celestin, co-writer of the upcoming Nat Turner biopic The Birth of a Nation, Kent Babb, Washington Post sports writer and PEN Literary Award finalist for Not a Game: The Incredible Rise and Unthinkable Fall of Allen Iverson, Clay Cane, entertainment editor at BET.com and director of Holler If You Hear Me: Black and Gay in the Church.

As a publicist she works with both fiction and nonfiction authors including New York Times bestseller D. Watkins, author of The Beastside: Living and Dying While Black in America, Tia Williams, former magazine beauty editor and author of The Perfect Find and Clint Smith award-winning poet, Ted Talk conference speaker and contributor to The New Yorker.

 

Advertisements

Get to Know an Agent in Attendance: Tessa Emily Hall of Hartline Literary

Screen Shot 2018-08-27 at 5.50.49 PM.pngTessa Emily Hall is a literary agent with Hartline Literary working alongside agent Cyle Young.

She is searching for young adult and middle grade (specifically contemporary, issue-driven fiction, YA romance, historical, and speculative fiction). She especially enjoys stories in these genres that have a compelling premise and authentic teen/tween voice.

Other genres she considers include Christian Living, devotional, children’s picture books, fantasy, science fiction, dystopian, literary fiction, new adult, and contemporary Christian/inspirational women’s fiction.

She will not represent the following genres: horror, thrillers, mystery/crime, erotica, memoir.

Tessa writes inspirational yet authentic YA fiction to show teens they’re not alone. Her passion led her to a career as an agent at Hartline Literary Agency, YA Acquisitions Editor for Illuminate YA (LPC Imprint), and Founder/Editor of PursueMagazine.net. Tessa’s first teen devotional, COFFEE SHOP DEVOS, will release with Bethany House in 2018. She’s guilty of making way too many lattes and never finishing her to-read list. When her fingers aren’t flying 116 WPM across the keyboard, she can be found speaking to teens, decorating her insulin pump, and acting in Christian films.

 

Get to Know an Agent in Attendance: Sally McMillan of Sally Hill McMillan & Associates

Screen Shot 2018-11-21 at 4.24.17 PM.pngSally McMillan is a literary agent and the founder of Sally Hill McMillan, LLC.

She is seeking: literary fiction, mainstream fiction, women’s fiction, and mystery. For nonfiction, she seeks history, lifestyle, health, and mind/body/spirit.

Sally is a member of the AAR and NWBA.

Please do not pitch her science fiction, military, horror, fantasy, adventure, children’s books (or any kind), or cookbooks.

Get to Know an Agent in Attendance: Amelia Appel of TriadaUS

Screen Shot 2018-05-14 at 1.38.50 PMLiterary Agent Amelia Appel joined TriadaUS after previously assisting at McIntosh & Otis, Inc. and Writers House. She is seeking adult fiction, nonfiction, and occasional YA.

For adult fiction, she is most interested in literary fiction, mystery, thriller, upmarket women’s fiction, science fiction and fantasy, and horror. Projects with a smart, distinct voice, a fantastic setting to jump into, and/or a witty protagonist are all up her alley. She is not looking for romance novels.

​For adult nonfiction, she is primarily looking for creative nonfiction, humor, sports, how-to, pop culture, and true crime. She is not looking to represent memoir.

​For YA, she is particularly interested in stories with a savvy protagonist and a slightly dark tone that deal with serious coming-of-age issues well.

Get to Know an Agent in Attendance: Melissa Jeglinski of The Knight Agency

Screen Shot 2018-11-13 at 10.13.18 AM.pngMelissa Jeglinski is a literary agent with The Knight Agency.

Melissa is currently seeking projects in the following areas: Romance (contemporary, category, historical, inspirational) Young Adult, Middle Grade, Women’s Fiction, and Mystery.

A graduate of Clarion University of Pennsylvania, where she majored in English with a writing concentration, Melissa began her career as an editor with Harlequin Enterprises. Looking to work with a variety of authors and genres, she joined The Knight Agency in 2008.

With over two decades experience in the publishing industry, Melissa has fostered her clients to National prominence including a recent Newbery Honor. She is a member of RWA and AAR.

 

 

Get to Know an Agent in Attendance: Nikki Terpilowski of Hollway Literary

Screen Shot 2018-11-13 at 10.07.42 AM.pngNikki Terpilowski is a literary agent and founder of Holloway Literary.

After receiving a B.A. in English, Nikki worked in the marketing communications field for several years as a writer and editor. Deciding she wanted to align her professional career with her lifelong passion for reading and writing, she interned at the Elaine English Agency based in Washington, DC, and then moved into literary management, representing a small group of women’s fiction and romance writers, that has expanded to include a list of YA, literary, historical, southern, mystery and thriller authors. Nikki loves all types of fiction, but is particularly interested in finding fresh Southern voices and ethnically and culturally diverse fiction. Books she’s represented have been nominated for RITA awards, RT Book Review top picks, Starred Publishers Weekly reviews, bestsellers, and Goodreads Choice Awards Nominees.

When she’s not working or wrangling her three sons, she enjoys traveling to the beach, mountains and all historical sites in between.

Nikki is currently accepting pitches for:

  • Southern fiction
  • Historical fiction
  • Young adult
  • Women’s fiction
  • Literary fiction
  • Mysteries
  • Thrillers
  • Romance – Contemporary, historical and romantic suspense
  • Cozy mysteries – Written in the vein of Ellery Adams, Eva Gates, Amanda Flower, Bailey Cates, Leslie Budewitz,, with book, food and beverage (wine, beer, coffee, tea, etc.), gardening/herbs, historical society/museum themes or magical realism.
  • Science Fiction – Including Afrofuturist fiction, written in the vein of Nnedi Okorafor and Octavia Butler
  • African-American – Fiction of all types that explore the African diaspora or African-American experience in a new or interesting way that goes beyond a focus on racism or oppression.
  • Nonfiction related to mindfulness, healthy eating (Paleo, gluten-free, etc.), regional/ethnic/fusion cookbooks, foodie subjects, travel, alternative simple living, i.e. homesteading, minimalism, etc, interesting self-help (personal and professional), military experiences, Civil War, Southern living, etc.
  • Key words that interest Nikki in pitches: North Carolina, Virginia, New Orleans, Nashville, Atlanta, Charleston, Savannah, Outer Banks, Napa, Idaho, Washington, Oregon, Antartica, Mars, African-diaspora, Caribbean, African-American, Gullah, Native American, Indian, Japan, Food, Wine, Coffee, Beer, Bakery, Farms, Civil War, Revolutionary War, Southern, Mountains, Beach, Magical Realism, Spies, Espionage, DARPA, Treasure, Secret Histories, Aliens, Military, Conspiracy, Organic, Mindfulness, Yoga.

Do Not Pitch:

  • Stories that focus on chronic illness or dying
  • Erotica
  • Graphic horror (light elements of horror are acceptable)
  • Stories with graphic sex scenes
  • Police procedurals
  • Stories in which children are abused
  • Stories that explore sexual abuse and its effects
  • Stories in which racism or discrimination are the focus (unless it is historical non-fiction)
  • Fiction set in the 60s, 70s, 80s or 90s.